Skip to content

Adventures In…being one day late!

25 January, 2009

Okay, so instead of blogging, I spent most of yesterday asleep, wishing I were asleep or wishing I were dead. A migraine found me and made it impossible to look at, hear or be around anyone or anything.

But after about 14 hours of sleep, I’m up, headache free and ready to play some catch-up.

So, on with the whole blog reboot thing, then, shall we? The new perameters are these: this blog will be updated at least once daily, and each day has a distinct theme from which the author will never vary.

What are the themes? I’m so glad you asked!

Sundays are City Sundays: And what a fantastic city it is! Every Sunday I’ll review a place, or collection of places from around the neighborhood, city or metro area. Since I’m an adult with children, look for reviews of everything from playgrounds to dive bars, children’s resale shops to, um, adult resale shops. Since I’m located in inner Southeast Portland, look for a bias in that direction. Look for the first edition of City Sundays later today when I review Three Belmont Bars.

Mondays are Make It Mondays: The theory here is, if I have to blog about crafting and creativity on Mondays, I’ll do a project over the weekend. I won’t only be showcasing my own work, I’ll also be featuring patterns, ideas and craft hacks that I find around the web. This week I’ll be kicking things off with a roundup of some of my favorite patterns for sewing, knitting and crochet and a glimpse at my crafty planning technique.


Tuesdays are Tech Tuesdays: Tuesdays are given over to my geek side. I imagine I’ll primarily be sharing my favorite web 2.0 apps and playthings, but you might expect some love for gadgets and whatever goodness apple throws our way in the coming year.

Wednesdays are Watch It Wednesdays: In which I’ll go all pop-culture consumer on this blog. I’ll review and anticipate movies, TV, music videos, YouTube sensations and anything else that crosses my path.

Thursdays are Thinking Thursdays: Just like Ned Scheebly, some day I’ll be a licensed teacher. Oh, wait. I am a licensed teacher. What I mean is someday I’ll be an employed teacher. I’m obsessed with the best ways to integrate technology into education. I’m also a bit of a nerd. So Thursdays will be all about classroom hacks, teaching methodoly and maybe an adventure or two in substitute teaching. Also, Thursdays will be all about what I’m reading and learning about in my own life.

Fridays are Food Day Fridays. Part of 2009 is all about cooking more. Much like Make It Mondays, I figure a deadline and a time set aside for writing about food will make me more intentional in the kitchen. We’re trying things all the time, and a lot of them are excellent, but they get lost to the world because I never write them down. So, look for recipes, photos and maybe even a video or two in the future of the stuff we’re cooking around here. Also expect the occasional reviews for wines, cheeses, local produce and other things I’m looking for an excuse to buy multiples of.

Saturdays are Set It Up/Sum it Up Saturdays: Saturdays are for reviewing what we’ve learned and providing sneak peeks of what’s coming up. Expect, too the occasional “State of the Union” entry, like this one, when major changes come or when there’s a bee in my bonnet about a particular subject not given a specific day.

Whew! Sorry about the super-long entry. I promise upcoming entries will be lighter on the verbage! Are you excited? I’m totally excited!

No comments yet

Leave a comment